CASSINI Synth for iPad: Will update score when you update app Review

Add reviewCASSINI Synth for iPad: Will update score when you update app Good reviewsCASSINI Synth for iPad: Will update score when you update app Bad reviewsCASSINI Synth for iPad: Will update score when you update app Review RSS feed
CASSINI Synth for iPad has 54 reviews. Enter your email below and we'll notify you when new reviews are added, so you can comment, share or remove the reviews. This is great for monitoring your apps or the competition's apps
Will update score when you update app
This synth lacks audiobus...and i am removing all non audiobus supported synths, as they will poo on my workflow.
Mic Gee$ on Feb 4, 2013 for CASSINI Synth for iPad
share · comment
Sound Malphunktion
This app has an enormous amount of features, and it should be considered one of the best on the market. The three oscillators have a wide variety of waveforms to choose from including FM and Noise. Within each oscillator you have advanced Level/DAHDSR envelopes, wave shaping, various pitch adjusting options, keyboard tracking and velocity, LFO with selectable L/M/H/Tempo range frequency and phase, PER Oscillator! Oscillator 1 features a 2 octave Sub, while oscillators 2 & 3 have ring modulation or sync. There are two filters which also have selectable filter types ranging from -24/18/12/6 db Lowpass to HP, BP, and Formant. They have provided advanced envelopes for the filters as well, plus a saturator effect within the filter and independent LFOs (per filter) along with the ability to modulate cutoff and resonance with multiple sources using the envelopes or LFOs. It's worth mentioning they have provided the LFOs with selectable AD/AR envelopes. The LFOs have a large section dedicated to control with options ranging from a large variety of waveforms, wave shaping, phase and frequency. Another really cool LFO feature is called accent where you can select cycle divisions and ratio. Most parameters can be modulated from either the LFO or the Envelope using linear or bi-polar modulation. The AMP section doesn't disappoint either giving you an additional Saturator with an independent equalizer for Bass/Mid/Treble. Here you will find another advanced independent envelope along with AM capabilities and a panning section and another independent LFO. This synthesizer doesn't house a plethora of FX, but they aren't missed at all. The delay has a ton of timing and modulation options to keep you busy as well as different types to choose from. The Arp has some really unique features that morph it into a step sequencer to top it all off. Any synthesizer enthusiast will have a field day here for sure!
Sound Malphunktion on Dec 29, 2012 for CASSINI Synth for iPad
share · comment
Complex sounds, but expect to roll your patches
PLUS -------- + Waveshapes are standard (sine, saw, pulse, triangle, noise), but there are countless ways to modulate them. (1) Almost everything that can be modulated has its own envelope and LFO. (2) Most of the envelopes have six articulations instead of the usual four: delay, attack, hold, decay, sustain, release. --> Great for long notes and pads. + It has audiocopy for sharing performances with other apps. + It has a powerful arpeggiator (comparable to Sunrizer or Addictive). + You get a ton of functionality for the price. MINUS --------- - The presets don't come anywhere close to showing what this synth is capable of. Plan on rolling your own patches. If you're already familiar with subtractive synthesis, no problem. But this is not an instrument for beginners. For more patches, look at "Casino" from Sunsine Audio. A pack of 59 sells for US$2.50. NOTE: I've seen some complaints here, from folks who bought the iPhone version, about the iPad version not being free. Come on, folks: think about what you paid for the original version, and be realistic. Review text edited for latest update, 8 Nov. 2012.
David Wilson-Okamura on Nov 8, 2012 for CASSINI Synth for iPad
share · comment
Sounds great!
At the time of this review, this is, IMHO, one of the top 3 synths in the App Store from a sound quality standpoint. I'm not a fan of the interface, but it has a nice feature set. It really does sound great.
AG Hatecraft on Oct 20, 2012 for CASSINI Synth for iPad
share · comment
Grrreat synth power in Cassini!
I really like this synth sound/texture and it has a clear and unobtrusive interface. Really easy to get into and learn. Please add support for Audiobus. Thank you for the Cassini synth!
Songwritten on Dec 11, 2012 for CASSINI Synth for iPad
share · comment
ARP is unusable
I really like this synth, easy uncluttered interface, amazing features, but i have some grips. First, the arpeggiator is useless, it does not keep time correctly, meaning beats are out of time, almost randomly, by a few ms, you could say i am being picky, but try it and you'll see, those few ms really count, and they are really noticeable (this is in my new ipad, i haven't tried it on any other model, but i guess it would be the same case). Also the presets aren't really good, and you should at least name them, but since i don't commonly use presets, i didn't take any star away for that. So it's one star for the unusable arpeggiator, and one for the lack of correct midi implementation, I mean midi works fine, but any time you move a knob in the hardware, you expect to see it respond in real time in the software, but on this synth that doesn't happen, so sometimes it is difficult to keep track of what you are doing. Other than that i really really like this synth, you really nailed the interface, a real step up from argon, it is simple, uncluttered, but good looking too, one of the most beautiful synths, the waves sound fat and the wave mod tools are really sweet, I don't regret the purchase, but would really really like those two points fixed, the arp interface is amazing, but yet again render useless by the problem mentioned. Would still recommend this to a friend. P.S. for 3 bucks a piece, I fail to see anything wrong about charging for it twice for the iphone and ipad version, take for example animoog, it's ipad and iphone versions are nearly the same, yet the ipad version costs you 30 and the iphone version an additional 10, i think 6 bucks (or maybe about 10 without the discounts) for cassini is more than fair. But I guess the people complaining aren't real musicians, more like random app buyers, else they would know the price of a vst instrument, and in comparison to this, makes cassini a real bargain.
OZPerpetue on Sep 2, 2012 for CASSINI Synth for iPad
share · comment