Home

MailTones Bad Reviews

Add reviewMailTones Good reviewsMailTones Bad reviewsMailTones Bad Reviews RSS feed
MailTones has 145 reviews. Enter your email below and we'll notify you when new reviews are added, so you can comment, share or remove the reviews. This is great for monitoring your apps or the competition's apps
Delayed notifications
I've been a long time user of mailtones as part of a paging solution. The last few months have shown very noticeable instability and especially delays (minutes or hours) between when an email goes to the private mailtones email address and the notification getting received on the device. Also more recently, clicking the notification to open the mailtones app causes it to hang and crash.
minaguib on Dec 19, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
Unreliable
With the death of PushMail, I needed a replacement that worked the same. I forward just the emails I want notifications for. Problem is like others say, the service is horribly unreliable. I read somewhere they blamed Apple for slowness. It's not Apple. If it was, people would dump them. No, it's the servers we are sending email too. And, the repeat notification feature does not work, as you'd expect after reading the above. Last issue, if you do tap a notification, it tries to open the app then just gives you a black screen for an eternity before you finally see the app then it jumps you to Mail So if you don't care about reliability, go for it
Pecos Bill on Jun 10, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
Minimal updates
I've been using this app for around 2 years now. I haven't had some of the reliability issues other users have reported but the do-not-disturb based off of time seems to have broken in the most recent update. I've not contacted the developer for support because many of the other reviews seem to indicate that process is not usually fruitful.
994YST on May 5, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
NOT WORKING!
Despite the fact that there were some hiccups from time to time, I was pretty much satisfied with this app. But all of sudden, it's just stopped working. Turned out that the "mailtones.net" address has been changed (for some reason) so I reconfigured the email forward settings. Nothing happens. Now I don't even get a verification code for Gmail. I checked all the possible notification settings on my iPhone and there's no reason it shouldn't be working. The funny thing is, the app was working even after I upgraded to iOS 7 a couple of months ago. I emailed the support asking questions but nobody is responding. WHAT'S GOING ON OVER THERE!? I don't know if this is an iOS 7 bug or what, but at least it's the support team's job to get back to their customers with some answers. I'd certainly recommend you not to waste your money unless they fix this crap (both service and product quality).
kryn145 on Apr 30, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
This app is unreliable joke!
Can't believe been so expensive, you think it would at least work! Unreliable works for a few days and quit for no reason... Frustrating!!
Mar22vvm on Apr 29, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
Bad support, unreliable
Knowledge Base on website is not complete and content stale/not-relevant. Support has yet to respond to email query. App is very expensive and as reported very unreliable -no statement or advisory if their Mail services are up either making troubleshooting very difficult. This has been experience by several in our office who use the app for their iPhones.
BubbaOnTheNet on Apr 4, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
Absolutely horrible
This app is horrible. It does not work AT ALL!!!!!!
I don't leave reviews but... on Apr 4, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
Not Reliable for Business & Developer Not Paying Attention
The only reason I got this was it is one of the few cusomizable tone apps out. But the system is constantly stopping working, and support only has advice for you when it is your fault - that is the only condition they recognize. Not reliable enough to notify you when your boss or client has sent you an important email - and the tones and support have not had any effort put into them for years. Can't record your own and sometimes the app mixes up the tones between ID's. Then the system will just quit working for weeks at a time. My advice is just PayPal the Developer $10 and don't even bother trying to use the package. He just wants the money.
DodgeCrate on Feb 14, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
Needs Improvement
It's pretty good, but for $9.99 there should be a lot more and better tones available. Many of the tones are similar to each other (e.g. "Glass" and "Coins"), and many have a very cheesy Atari 2600 kind of sound. When you assign tones by contact, it only seems to work for one email address per contact. Being able to assign by keyword would be nice, like in PushMail. The notifications also seem a little slow. Overall it's promising and will hopefully improve. I'd give it 3 stars if it weren't so expensive; as it is, 2 stars for an average app at a premium price.
The Mannerist on Feb 6, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment
Not working
I got this app as pushmail got discontinued. This program does not work. You can not trust this app to alarm you of any message except test messages.
Ekwulobia on Feb 6, 2014 for version 1.60
share · comment