Home

Instacast 5: PAID PODCASTS Review

Add reviewInstacast 5: PAID PODCASTS Good reviewsInstacast 5: PAID PODCASTS Bad reviewsInstacast 5: PAID PODCASTS Review RSS feed
Instacast 5 has 639 reviews. Enter your email below and we'll notify you when new reviews are added, so you can comment, share or remove the reviews. This is great for monitoring your apps or the competition's apps
PAID PODCASTS
30 Jul 2013 1. To access a paid podcast, I have to input the username and password each time. The app should remember these. 2. When I input name/password, it fails. Every time. Yes, I did use the correct inputs. The same inputs work correctly on the web site. 26 Jul 2013 - Nothing had been fixed.
HDWRUIF on Aug 26, 2013 for Instacast 5
share · comment
Packed with features, but buggy and hard to use
I have been a long time user of both Instacast (for iPhone with Pro in-app purchase) and Instacast HD. I use Instacast almost daily, so I have no problem having to pay to upgrade to 3.0. 3.0 offers 3 major changes (no pun intended): 1. Home grown syncing engine that works more reliably than iCloud. 2. Better download manager (with ability to set offline storage limit). 3. Universal binary for more consistent experience between iPhone and iPad. As a user who listens to podcast with iPhone (5) and iPad (3rd generation), these 3 updates would justify $4.99 retail price. But it is hampered by stability, performance, and usability issues. Many issues have been addressed in recent patches, but the app still feels very slow at times and still buggy. It occasionally refuses to play episodes other podcast apps can play (even after deleting and re-downloaidng the episode) and frequently shows blank show note. Bluetooth implementation is particularly buggy, which continuously sends music info to my Prius. Its tentpole feature of revamped user experience is a big letdown. By large, it looks and feels very similar to Instacast 2.0 for iPhone. I normally have no problem with UI remaining static, especially since Instacast looks pretty attractive. But Instacast is designed for power users in mind. As such, it isn’t very easy to use with minimal interaction, especially if you are trying to change the episode/podcast quickly when you have stopped at a stop sign or traffic light. And it is all too easy to accidentally start another episode. Worse, the developer does not respond at all. I have asked several questions, all quick 1-2 paragraph question. And none received a reply.
Nutmac on Aug 6, 2013 for Instacast 5
share · comment
Locks up, crashes and severe battery drain
Used around an hour and a half, or tried to with only 12 subscriptions, locked up for minutes, then crashed when trying to just change status of episodes to "Mark all as Played" on some casts, and even when just scrolling through the list on others. Downloaded only 4 episodes and refreshed listing twice, so don't know why this drained a fully charged battery to less than 1/4 power in that time, didn't even have a podcast playing. I use Downcasts and Pocket Casts, sometimes both open and refreshing casts, plus have casts playing around 7 to 8 hours a day, and my battery still has more life than this, so I know it's not the wifi or device. I can't believe I paid 4.99 for this thing. You're much better off sticking with just the Apple Podcasts app than this. I was hoping this would maybe have some better and different features than the other Podcast apps I use, but sadly not. Even the Playlist feature is lacking. I didn't get much chance to mess with those because it would crash often, but it seems like you can only make one list per "Status", i.e.- Downloaded, Played, etc..
lbw2112 on Aug 5, 2013 for Instacast 5
share · comment
Power drain fixed
This was killing my iPhone battery. Thanks for the last update which fixed this!
Cglcgl on Aug 3, 2013 for Instacast 5
share · comment
As always, the best!
Keep it up Instacast!
Hitco on Aug 2, 2013 for Instacast 5
share · comment
Intuitive alternative to basic podcast app
Good: interface, controls, automation tools Bad: no way to set auto delete of old episodes (ie, keep only most recent x shows); no way to set what time the check for new episodes takes place
Sycsummit on Jul 29, 2013 for Instacast 5
share · comment