Home

Documents To Go® Free: Crash and burn Review

Add reviewDocuments To Go® Free: Crash and burn Good reviewsDocuments To Go® Free: Crash and burn Bad reviewsDocuments To Go® Free: Crash and burn Review RSS feed
Documents To Go® Free has 1050 reviews. Enter your email below and we'll notify you when new reviews are added, so you can comment, share or remove the reviews. This is great for monitoring your apps or the competition's apps
Crash and burn
This used to be a pretty good app but now it won't even open it all I have had to remove the program and download it again to get to work but that meant also re-creating on my connected files Even when it does work I don't like the new format and they took away a very useful file sort function they to have I'm going to download one more time and if they don't fix it before starts crashing again I'm looking for another app
Sliv99 on Oct 30, 2013 for Documents To Go® Free
share · comment
Documents to Go-Standard Ver. 5.0.0013
This has got to be the most useless program I have. When it works, I can live with it. However, now it is crashing, I am also having problems syncing. It Really is hard for me to recommend and I have used it for several years. They just don’t get.
bobreese on Oct 30, 2013 for Documents To Go® Free
share · comment
Getting there... Eventually
10/1/13 Ability to star/unstar documents in Recent tab is GONE, yet files still seem to retain their previous starred status. PLEASE FIX. 9/7/13 Open In function has been restored. Also, it seems odd that the top bar in the app is a bit higher than necessary. 9/6/13 A year later and not really much of an upgrade in terms of features, but some UI changes that may prove welcome in time. At least the app has still been solid for me, and Dropbox connection still works fine. As for INSERT/DELETE spreadsheet rows and columns, the functions are still there, but just a little hidden: you need to tap and hold a row or column selector to access row/column editing options, but good luck if you have a short row or narrow column, in which case you'll probably just end up in row/column resizing mode, unless perhaps if you have tiny fingers. As for the new sheet selector/tabs in the spreadsheet component, it's really nice to have quick access to worksheets, but then the tabs take up so much of minimal screen space (including the extra space under the tabs which seems wasted). A simple menu option or swipe gesture (or both) to show/hide the sheet selector would probably be a good solution. 10/5/12 Another seemingly POINTLESS ANNOYANCE is that the Cloud tab often randomly (?) reverts to the root directory, as if to just p*ss you off. It is also unclear how the app determines which files to sync or how many subdirectory levels to check. It certainly doesn't scan and compare them all—likely to increase efficiency—but a file in another directory or subdirectory may have been opened via the very handy Recent tab and then modified, but then doesn't sync when selecting the Cloud tab, resulting in not-infrequent sync conflicts. 6/24/12 Another feature missing that is present in Excel is conditional formatting. What a welcomed addition to DTG that would be. 3/8/12 Do you know what the best thing about Quickoffice is? It generally makes me appreciate this product a lot more. Make that 3-AND-A-HALF stars... No, I'll even go FOUR. For now... 5/3/11 It's a little ridiculous that an entire folder, subfolders and files can't be synced in a one-step, manual process like every other Dropbox-connected app I have. The auto-sync of every folder on access really degrades usability. DataViz, please see "ReaddleDocs" and "GoodReader" for examples of Dropbox integration done right. 4/28/11 And an update on the issue where spreadsheets modified on the desktop open in DTG scrolled to column BM: .xls files only, not .xlsx. 4/27/11 Dropbox integration works alright for me, but the constant refreshing of content is SO annoying and inefficient. How about a setting for manual/auto refresh? On a side note, not being able to swap the "Store" tab (really just an in-app upgrade screen) with a tab you actually use is pretty asinine. 4/7/11 It's unthinkable that Spreadsheet cannot be used in multitasking... Almost A YEAR LATER. Resume Docs to Go from another app, try to enter data into a cell... CRASH!!! This applies only to "Recent" files. Could be a FIVE-STAR app. 11/9/10 "Bug fix update" fail. Exact same multitasking crash bug as described below. 10/29/10 Just reiterating my disgust with the multi-line formula bar (see below). So much potential, but usability has to come first. Put the "X" to clear back, and make expansion to multi-line content-dependent. Please? Thanks. 9/27/10 The only way to navigate back from the search pane once the keyboard is displayed is to enter text and search, or close and reopen the app. 9/15/10 A number of improvements and bug fixes in this update, including several that happen to resolve previous complaints or requests of mine. This is progress. But now the app flat out crashes every time I open it while running in "multi-tasking" mode, to the spreadsheet previously opened, and then tap the formula bar in order to enter data. CRASH. Now that I have come to rely on this app for seveal things, this is a huge problem. Also, the changes to the spreadsheet formula bar a few updates ago are somewhat detrimental to usability. 1. There is no longer an X in the text box to clear the contents in one step which was very handy. 2. The automatic expansion of the text box to multi-line is annoying and would be better if it expanded only when needed. 3. The expanded text box in landscape makes it impossible to access other cells or navigate the sheet as was possible before. Still no ability to create spreadsheet CELL BORDERS. Maybe if I asked nicely? Who knows? ------------------------- One glaring omission in the spreadsheet app is the ability to work with CELL BORDERS! Also, the rendering of sheets when scrolling beyond a certain amount of content is slow, but within that amount, it is quite smooth. I think QuickOffice does a little better in this respect. Also, the sheet name does not appear anywhere but in the sheet selector. I like how that marginal app, "Spreadsheet", deals with displaying workbook and worksheet names. And this app lacks sheet sorting which QuickOffice provides, but does have sheet thumbnails/previews in the sheet selector, which is extremely handy.
Mr. Zyler on Oct 29, 2013 for Documents To Go® Free
share · comment
Across the board
Since the new update the sleep mode has been pitiful. When you close the app it take you back to the desktop. If you leave a doc open you stand the risk of losing everything. Please fix this because it is driving me crazy. The old doc would let me leave my doc open and not lose anything. Emanuel
chantsong on Oct 29, 2013 for Documents To Go® Free
share · comment
Crashes
If you email to the app and you try to open the document the app will crash. You then need to remove the app and reinstall. This is most inconvenient.
Shrich on Oct 28, 2013 for Documents To Go® Free
share · comment
Frustrating experience
After I began a business from my home in June of 2012, and being an OS X novice, I purchased this app to assist me in managing client docs, presentation, etc.. It worked exactly as advertised for 10 1/2 months. In May 2013, after an update, the app in my MBP stopped synching with the iPad. I’ve taken it to the “Geniuses” at the Apple store, they couldn’t figure out the issue. I’ve reached out repeatedly to the creators, and am yet to receive any feedback, whatsoever. After months of reading horror stories from other users, thinking that I was immune, the “Bug’ caught up with me. Do yourself a favor and avoid this app (for both iOS & OS X)! Use Dropbox or Google Drive (ugh!).
BLKH2O on Oct 27, 2013 for Documents To Go® Free
share · comment