Home

Audubon Birds Pro App Reviews Page 80

Add reviewAudubon Birds Pro Good reviewsAudubon Birds Pro Bad reviewsAudubon Birds Pro App Reviews Page 80 RSS feed
Audubon Birds Pro has 799 reviews. Enter your email below and we'll notify you when new reviews are added, so you can comment, share or remove the reviews. This is great for monitoring your apps or the competition's apps
Audubon Field Guide - A great app!
This is an excellent app. There are several different ways to search for birds. The photos are wonderful on the iPad. There are range maps, and excellent sound recordings, so you can compare what you are hearing in the field to what is in the guide. It's so easy to move around within the database. We've learned lots from it already in the few days we've had it. All kinds of things I've wanted to know about various birds but have forgotten about because it was too much hassle to find out are now right at my fingertips.
sag1901 on Feb 22, 2011 for version 1.6
share · comment
Audubon Birds - A Field Guide to North American Birds
This is a great well illustrated easy to use program - well worth price.
IceTB54 on Jan 6, 2011 for version 1.5
share · comment
Audubon Birds - A Field Guide to North American Birds
A good beginners guide. Advanced birders will probably find it lacking in several crucial respects. On the positive side are the inclusion of numerous songs for many of the species. The range maps are basically correct. Lists are easy to make and to update. Descriptions are adequate. The photos are excellent, but drawings also have a place and could have easily been included. The one thing I would like to see is provision to easily rearrange the various life lists. Given that the user has the option of seeing the main lists by common name or family, it would be nice to have that feature in the life lists and to alphabetize them. I wish the Search section allowed markings such as wingbars, breast streaks, eye rings and so on. Perhaps future versions will include these. So far, I think this is the best of the Audubon guides I have purchased (Mammals and Insects are the others) and recommend it as a good starter guide.
Birder123456 on Jun 17, 2010 for version 1.3.1
share · comment
Disappointed
First off it claims to be iPad ready. It's not. Just pixel doubling iPhone res. Does not use landscape mode. Short on info. Some photos but clearly lacking. Bought another app for 4.99 not as many birds but much better app. Tried for refund but all sales are final. Too bad....
Raindog23 on Jun 8, 2010 for version 1.3.1
share · comment
Version 1.3.1 works!
This new release (1.3.1) loads successfully and consistently... I have revised my previous rating of one star (for version 1.3) to five stars now that I can load and use the program for the first time since purchasing it. I find this to be a feature-rich and very well-done program, and look forward to using it more. The update/fix is much appreciated!
MHarlos on Feb 13, 2010 for version 1.3.1
share · comment
Amazing
This is probably the best app i have for my itouch. If i knew this app existed would had replaced my trusty classic long ago. thank you greatly from all the birders.
ZoliCa on Jan 26, 2010 for version 1.3
share · comment
Audubon Birds
This application will NOT load.............Audubon Wildflowers will load.............please fix quickly
wmrowe on Jan 11, 2010 for version 1.3
share · comment
Great field guide
Awesome pictures and very complete information and new birds keep getting added by using the online sync feature which is very nice. I haven't had the GPS issues with sightings that another reviewer did (using a 3GS also). Mine have been very accurate.
Wilbur777 on Nov 30, 2009 for version 1.3
share · comment
impressive content, but GPS features not as advertised
As you might expect from an Audubon guide, the information and photos are very good, as are the recordings (though not all species have them). What a joy to have a field guide in your iPhone- I use it more than I thought I would. The app clearly wants to move toward the full potential of a searchable, GPS-using, share-able birding experience, but it is not there yet. More disappointingly, it is not as advertised, which is why I'm writing a review for those of you contemplating dropping 20 bucks. First- technical help is virtually non-existant. There are pages that tell you how to use the app, but none to help you troubleshoot and no FAQ's. Emails to the "feedback" address go unanswered. You can filter the species by habitat, color, shape etc. You can filter by zip code, but only in the USA. It says you can filter by "where you are" which I assume indicates that it will use your GPS location but there is absolutely no hint of this in the actual app. You can record sightings, but you can't share them easily. (I would like to be able to visit an area and easily see others' recent sightings. No luck.) Most alarmingly, when you record a sighting using your phone's location, it is highly inaccurate- it records the sighting up to a km off the actual spot. Upon a little investigation, I have concluded it is using cell phone triangulation (the old way) and not using your GPS at all. (I'm using the iPhone 3GS, outdoors, with location services fully enabled.) Again, requests through the web site for help or confirmation of this have gone unanswered.
donaldonaldonald on Nov 24, 2009 for version 1.2
share · comment